Off to ProWein, Wine Buying Trip — Spring 2017

ProWein 2017_coast of Copenhagen

Since 2011, I make a pilgrimage to ProWein every March. It’s the biggest wine fair in the world (put on for wholesalers and retailers – not open to the public), and it’s a great way for me to efficiently find new wines for our book as well as visit most of my current producers to say hello and taste through their new vintages & new wines. ProWein takes place in Düsseldorf each March, so with my parents in Berlin and my brother and his family outside of Munich, it’s a great time for me to see my family as well.

This year, I decided to blog during this trip so that I could share a little about the people I meet and the wines I’m tasting!

ProWein 2017_Berlin_view from Berliner Dom_v2

Berlin — Aside from the Berlin airport strike that doubled my 12.5 hour trip from (originally) Seattle-Amsterdam-Berlin to Seattle-Amsterdam-Copenhagen-Hamburg …then an ICE from Hamburg to Berlin (causing me to lose a day with my parents), we had a great visit. On this trip my dad and I climbed up the Berliner Dom. Above is the view from the top as well as the view within:

ProWein 2017_Berlin_Berliner Dom_v2

In the evenings, I’d hang out with my parents and enjoy wines that are nearly impossible to find in the Seattle market, like this klasse Blauer Spätburgunder that I enjoyed with my father:

ProWein 2017_Berlin_Blauer Spaetburgunder_v3

Light, smooth, spicy with a hint of smoke. Here’s my dad, btw. He’s 85, and I’m pretty sure this is his first selfie!

ProWein 2017_Berlin_Jens and Hannes_v2

ProWein kicked off on Sunday, March 19. Let the journey begin!

ProWein 2017_heading in

First appointment was with Lambert, remember him?

ProWein 2017_Lambert

Among other things, tasted a Chablis — C’est la bombe! And I think a found a new Bordeaux Supérieur. I don’t want to give away the farm before it’s secured, so stay tuned for more details on new wines…

Here’s Cesar Langa of Bogedas Langa (located in Calatayud in the province of Aragón). His Garnacha is the most recent Spanish addition to our book:

ProWein 2017_Cesar Langa

Here’s his Chardonnay. Bottle is equally as cool as the Garnacha we have in Seattle:

ProWein 2017_Cesar Langa_Chardonny

The one and only — Monsieur Clerget of Sélection Patrick Clerget:

ProWein 2017_Clerget

Looks serious, doesn’t he. He’s actually very funny! We carry his Chevalier Clerget Mâcon-Villages, Beaujolais-Villages and most recently his Réserve du Chevalier Crémant de Bourgogne (killer!). And I had the great privilege of trying some of his many high-end wines. This one was unbelievable:

ProWein 2017_Clerget Montrachet

Madame Rigal says hello to Seattle. She inherited Château du Grand Caumont from her mother, so she is the second generation woman proprietor of this wonderful estate in Languedoc. We’ve imported her Château du Grand Caumont Cuvée Tradition, Cuvée Spéciale & Cuvée Impatience (all reds) since our first container in 2011. This year I really liked her white & rosé. Stay tuned…

ProWein 2017_Laurence Rigal_Chateau du Grand Caumont

On to Day 2:

Greetings from Daniele Pelassa. For those of you who remember, he visited Seattle in 2012. Fantastic new vintages!

ProWein 2017_Daniele Pelassa

If you are a fan of our La Farra Prosecco, meet Adamaria Nardi. She runs La Farra with her brothers, Innocente & Guido. We imported their Prosecco on our first Italian container in 2011 and we’ve done nothing but add to the line: Brut, Extra Dry, DOCG Superiore, Rosé and as of last fall: Pinot Grigio Colli Trevigiani.

ProWein 2017_Adamaria Nardi_La Farra

Next… Jaci’s wish list includes Lambrusco. (You all must be asking for it quite a bit because she’s adamant about this!) We hope to introduce this gentleman to you as our new Lambrusco producer. 4th generation! Stay tuned for details as we get details organized…

ProWein 2017_Lambrusco

ProWein 2017_Lambrusco_v2

Here is Giulia Franchetto of the Franchetto family, producer of our popular Franchetto Soave “La Capelina”. Their higher-end Soave “Recorbian” arrives in mid-April along with more “La Capelina”. Don’t forget their Pinot Grigio. It’s great for the price!

ProWein 2017_Giulia Franchetto_v2

The only Italian Bayern fan I even met: Luca Ferraris! We carry several of his Ruché wines as well as a very popular Barbera d’Asti. Check them out if you haven’t already!

ProWein 2017_Luca Ferraris

ProWein 2017_Luca Ferraris_v2

There were so many more highlights, but I have to sleep now… Stay tuned for Day 3!

Okay, back in the saddle — Day 3:

Anyone interested in wines from Savoie? They are fantastic! Jaci will be thrilled!

ProWein 2017_Savoie

I have to admit that Day 3 was hectic! But I still landed on some great wines including this Pecorino from Abruzzo!

IMG_2941

Look who else I had the pleasure of running into: Tiago Alves de Sousa! Anyone remember him from a tasting at Portalis in 2009?? Crazy-good reds from Portugal!

ProWein 2017_Tiago Alvez de Souza

I always visit Franz Prechtl (Weinviertel, Austria) at ProWein. This year he had his son, Paul Prechtl, with him. Die neue Generation!

ProWein 2017_Prechtl_1

Of course I visited my old friend, Fernando Rojo. He supplies us with our Bodegas Casto Pequeño (Castilla y León) & Bodegas Rauda (Ribera del Duero).

ProWein 2017_Fernando

This year he had me revisit this little treat:

ProWein 2017_Fernando_Tavera

Last but not least… Ines Giovanett of Weingut Castelfeder (Alto Adige, Italy).

ProWein 2017_Castelfeder_Ines

And how better to end the day than with a taste of her latest vintage Pinot Nero Riserva!

ProWein 2017_Castelfeder_BN Pinot Nero

Tomorrow I’m off to visit some family friends in Trier, and we’ll be making a day trip through the Mosel. Stay tuned… we’ll be visiting wineries there as well!

Signing off from ProWein 2017!

Cheers,
Jens Strecker
J. Strecker Selections

About J. Strecker Selections

J. Strecker Selections is a wine import company focused on bringing delicious, good value wines from the Old World to the Northwest marketplace.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

